Junior Research Group Leader Julia Kowalski Inducted into " Junges Kolleg“

Julia Kowalski

Julia Kowalski has been accepted as a young scholar into the „ Junges Kolleg“ of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts. Members participate in the activities of the Academy and receive an annual stipend of 10,000 Euros, and they have the opportunity to discuss their projects in interdisciplinary working groups. Julia is a member of the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering and Junior Research Group Leader at AICES since 2015. Together with her group she works on developing mathematical and numerical methods for applications in the geosciences. 
read more.

Paper by Markus Höhnerbach, Ahmed Ismail and Paolo Bientinesi replicated in SSC

The paper "The Vectorization of the Tersoff Multi-Body Potential: An Exercise in Performance Portability", by M. Höhnerbach, A. Ismail, and P. Bientinesi, has been selected to be replicated in the Student Cluster Competition (SCC) at  SC17, the leading conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis.
The paper will receive the Results Replicated badge from ACM.

DFG Project Approved for Associated Junior Research Group Leaders Dr.-Ing. Stefanie Elgeti

The project "Automated design and optimisation of dynamic mixing and shear elements for single-screw extruder” will be conducted together with Prof. Christian Hopmann, the head of the Institute for Plastic Processing in Aachen. The next three years of research will be devoted to developing a simulation-based methodology that allows a deterministic design of single-screw extruders. This will significantly advance the current state of the art, where designer mostly rely on experience and trial-and-error procedures.

Between Child Education and Scientific Career at the Graduate School AICES

Rosalia Tatano

The RWTH website offers a very special advent calendar. Every day they introduce an interesting person of an excellent project of the RWTH to their readers. 

AICES is part of the excellence initiative and because of that our doctoral student Rosalia Tatano gives us a insight how to manage life as a mother and a doctoral student.

This shows, that Aachen and RWTH are not only an excellent environment for studying, but also good for a family life.

Read the whole article here.

Charlemagne Distinguished Lecture Series: AICES Welcomes Prof. Dr. Yann LeCun


Twice a year, the AICES fellows organize the prestigious Charlemagne Lecture, whose objective is to invite persons, who have achieved impressive accomplishments throughout their career and, in this sense, to get inspired by their scientific achievements. 
As the 12th speaker, the AICES fellows invited Professor Dr. Yann LeCun, Director of AI Research at Facebook. Professor Dr. LeCun gave a talk on "Unsupervised Learning: the Next Frontier in AI" on November 28, 2016 at 3pm in the FordHall of Super C (6th floor). 
We were very pleased about his visit and we will be honoured to welcome Yann LeCun any time again.  

More information