CAMMP awarded Brigitte Gilles Prize

RWTH Aachen annually awards the Brigitte Gilles Prize, the first name of the women's representative of the University, Professor Brigitte Gilles. The aim is to create projects and measures of an innovative nature that contribute to the promotion of women.
CAMMP (Computational and Mathematical Modeling Program) was awarded the Brigitte Gilles Prize 2018 for its commitment to promoting young women in the category projects, initiatives and individuals. The prize was awarded during the event RWTHtransparent on April 5th 2019.

The aim of CAMMP is to arouse and encourage students' interest in MINT study programs. In "CAMMP Days" and "CAMMP Weeks", middle and high school students devote themselves to solving everyday problems, industry and research, using mathematical modeling and computer use. They are supervised by female students, doctoral candidates and scientists.

If you want to read more, please click here.

AICES Fellow Kai Schüller Passed His Doctoral Exam

Kai Schüller started as an AICES Fellow in 2015 and received his doctoral degree in January 2019. His research on “ Close-contact Melting - Process Insights and Relevance for Ice Exploration”, has been advised by Dr. Kowalski.

Kai now works as a Software Engineer at Scisys Deutschland GmbH, Bochum.

Congratulations Kai!

Dr. Malte Göttsche officially inducted into the Junges Kolleg of the Nordrhein-Westfälische Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste

Dr. Malte Göttsche has been newly accepted as young scholars into the “Junges Kolleg” of the North Rhine-Westphalian Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts.

Up to 30 excellent young researchers of all disciplines can be elected into the Junges Kolleg of the Academy of Sciences, Humanities and the Arts , for a maximum period of four years. They participate in the activities of the Academy and receive an annual stipend of 10,000 Euros.

Furthermore, members are given the chance to network with other outstanding researchers and benefit from the Academy's resources and infrastructure. A doctoral degree as well as exceptional academic and research achievement at one of the NWR universities or research institutions are among the prerequisites for acceptance into the College.

Dr. Malte Göttsche is Junior Professor of Experimental Physics at the RWTH Physics Institute III and a research group leader at the AICES Graduate School.Since December 2017, he has been a junior professor at RWTH, leading the “Verification and Nuclear Disarmament” early-career research group funded through a Freigeist Fellowship from VolkswagenStiftung.

If you want to read more, please click here.

AICES Fellow Paul Springer Passed His Doctoral Exam

Paul started as an AICES Fellow in 2014 and received his doctoral degree in January 2019. His research has been advised by Prof. Bientinesi, Ph.D.

Paul now works as a Software Engineer at NVIDIA, Santa Clara, California, USA 

Congratulations Paul!

Prof. Karen Veroy-Grepl received ERC Grant

The ERC aims to support the best and most creative scientists to identify and explore new opportunities and directions in any field of research, without thematic priorities. It particularly encourages research which cross disciplinary boundaries; address new and emerging fields; and introduce unconventional and innovative approaches.
Prof. Karen Veroy-Grepl Ph.D. (Graduate School AICES) has received a coveted Consolidator Grant from the European Research Council (ERC).ERC Consolidator grants are designed to support researchers at the stage of consolidating their own research team or programme. This grant scheme strengthens recently created independent and excellent research teams. 
Congratulations Karen!